29 December 2020

Being an indispensable partner of democratic movement and a pillar of democratic system, civil society and civil society organizations of Nepal have been closely observing the actions of the government, political parties and other concerned actors.

Nepalese civil society organizations are deeply concerned about the recent dissolution of the House of Representatives and announcement of the date for the midterm elections in May 2021 by the President Ms. Bidhya Devi Bhandari upon the recommendation by the Prime Minister Mr. K.P. Sharma Oli.

It is our conclusion that this particular move is indeed a misfortune with a serious impact on values and norms of democracy as well as is entirely in contrary to the interest and aspiration of Nepalese peoples. It is an unexpected shock and surprise to the ordinary citizens whilst the nation is already affected by health, financial and social crisis.

Victimizing the parliament and pushing the country towards instability because of intra-party feud for the sake of power rivalry within the ruling party cannot be justified under any pretext.

We speculate that the ongoing action of the political parties after the dissolution of the parliament is gradually moving towards erosion of the historical achievements gained by Nepalese peoples through a long struggle.

We aren’t prepared to simply accept any acts and interventions in opposition to the values and norms of democracy and its mounted principles.

Therefore, we appeal to all the political parties to pursue meaningful dialogues with standing on the foundation of the constitution and democracy and to come out with concrete political solutions. We also appeal to the government and the concerned authorities to swiftly act towards avoidance of possible criminal and violent activities, and to safeguard fundamental rights of the citizens.


Dr. Gopal Krishna Siwakoti, Chairperson, INHURED International

Mr. Bhawani Prasad Kharel, Chairperson, National Human Rights Foundation Nepal

Dr. Kapil Shrestha, Human Rights Activist

Mr. Charan Prasai, Accountability Watch Committee Nepal

Mr. Taranath Dahal, Chairperson, Citizens Campaign for Right to Information

Mr. Hari Binod Adhikari, Chairperson, Freedom Forum

Prof. Dr. Tara Prasad Sapkota

Dr. Moti Nepali, Chairperson, Dalit Welfare Association

Mr. Shovakar Budhathoki, Human Rights Activist cum Conflict Expert

Ms. Shanta Laxmi Shrestha, Gender and Human Rights Activist

Mr. Bhakta Biswokarma, Chairperson, Dalit NGO Federation Nepal

Mr. Narendra Khatiwada, Chairperson, Youth Advocacy Nepal

Mr. Daya Sagar Shrestha, Chairperson, National Campaign for Sustainable Development Nepal

Mr. Jagdish Ayer, Chairperson, AYON Nepal

Mr. Bhawani Lohorung, Chairperson, NGO Federation of Indigenous Nationalities Nepal

Mr. Dillu Prasad Ghimire, Secretary, NGO Federation of Nepal, cum Secretary General, Climate Change Federation

Mr. Ishwori BK, Chairperson, Dalit Welfare Organization

Mr. Roshan Pokharel, Constitutional Lawyer’s Forum

Mr. Mukunda Dahal, NAIDP Nepal

Mr. Trilok Chand Biswas BK, National President, Nepal National Dalit Social Welfare Organization

Mr. Rabindra Nath Thakur, Chairperson, Madhesh Human Rights Home (Mahuri-Home)

Ms. Purna Shova Chitrakar, NCBL Nepal

Mr. Naresh Tamrakar, Chairperson, Newa Dey Dabu

Mr. Poshta KC, Civil Society Activist

Mr. Sanjog Thakuri, Chairperson, Hami Dajubhai

Mr. Suman Khadka, Chief Executive Office, Youth Initiative Nepal

Mr. Krishna Tamang, Social Activist

Mr. Bhupendra Ghimire, Founder President, Volunteers Initiative Nepal (VIN)

Mr. Ekraj Chhatkuli, Focus Nepal Dhading

Mr. Sundar Sheni, Chairperson, Dalit Youth Alliance Nepal

Mr. Bishnu Kunwar, Rural Development Foundation, Janakpur

Mr. C.M. Guragain, Chairperson, DEFAN Udayapur

Mr. Laxmi Gurung, Chairperson, IWL Nepal

Mr. Mahendra Khanal, Human Rights Activist and Advocate, Kapilvastu

Chairperson, Social Justice Forum, Sunsari

Mr. Shuvalal Rai, Chairperson, Kirat Youth Society

Ms. Nirmala Rai, Chairperson, Kirat Chamling Language and Culture Upliftment Association

Mr. Hiran Rai, Chairperson, Kirat Youth Association

Mr. Muna Thapa, Chairperson, Active Society, Nepal

Mr. Barsa Rai, Chairperson, Janaekata Youth Society

Ms. Birsana Rai, Chairperson, Kirat Chamling Youth Association

Sangharsa Dalit Women Saving and Credit Cooperative, Kohalpur

Radio Pratibodh, Kohalpur

Indigenous Nationalities Women Group